The “Leviathan” Premiere is Tomorrow!

Just a reminder! 🙂

The world premiere of my 2008 concerto for 6-string electic violin – “Leviathan of the Ancient Deep” – is tomorrow night! Here’s the Event Page for more info.

The word “Leviathan” comes from the Hebrew word meaning “one who twists and coils,” or “the winding one”. This musical work is a depiction of the ancient Dragon of the Sea mentioned in the Bible and other rabbinic texts. Taking its cue from the description of this awesome Creature of imagination, this concerto features the virtuosic properties of the six-string electric violin with its immense range, while the various and creative sounds available to the synthesizer and electric wind instrument (EWI) enhance the beauty of the acoustic orchestra. The percussion is meant to stand apart as an entity unto itself, to evoke an air of tribal antiquity with sounds reminiscent of Japanese taiko and Middle Eastern drumming practices.

The three movements of this concerto tell a story of warriors setting sail upon the seas to find this ancient creature, Leviathan, for themselves…

I. Seekers of the Legend: “There go the ships: [there] is that Leviathan, [whom] thou hast made to play therein.”

II. Sighting: “Canst thou draw out Leviathan with an hook?… None is so fierce that dare stir him up… Upon earth there is not his like, who is made without fear… He is a king over all the children of pride.”

III. The Hunt: “In that day the LORD with his sore and great and strong sword shall punish Leviathan…that crooked serpent; and he shall slay the dragon that [is] in the sea.”

Hope to see you there!

Sarah enjoys her new custom 6-string electric violin, Aisling

Share this post

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.